Most states have statutory arguemnets that allow licensed institutions

Most states have enacted more laws in the past years due to serving alcohol such as, Whiskey, Vodka, Grey Goose, Cognac, Hennessey, etc. in the present and the past, which causes the minors and all ages to have major injuries and cause other people to get hurt that maybe with them or not. Drinking and driving and other things have caused so many deaths and injuries all over the world, are trying to be solved by all states of the United States of America and are trying to prevent these things from happening. Some states have more common social host liability laws, which are not restricted to just minors, but to anyone who was encouraged or allowed to drink any type of alcohol to the point where they were injured or killed or causing somebody else to. The laws hold social hosts liable for property damage that is related to many accidents. Thirty states have statutory arguemnets that allow licensed institutions such as restaurants, bars, liquor stores, etc. to be held liable for selling or serving the alcohol that was provided for any individuals who caused an injury or death. Currently, 22 of the 30 states limit the liability to cases where the establishment sold or served alcohol to an obviously intoxicated individual under the legal drinking age, which is 21 years old. The 22 states include Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Statutes (which is when an act of a legislature that declares, proscribes or commands something) in Louisiana free licensed establishments from liability, except in the cases where they serve a person under the age of 21, which is the age you are allowed to drink alcohol. Nevada and South Dakota exempt licensed establishments from liability.

In Texas, providing, selling, or serving an alcoholic beverage may be made the basis of a statutory cause of action under this chapter, and may be made the basis of a cancellation proceeding under §6.01(b) of this code upon proof that: At the time, the provision occurred it was visible and obvious to the provider that the individual being sold, served, or provided with an alcoholic beverage was obviously intoxicated to an extreme extent or level, that they hurt or killed someone them accidently.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!


order now

 In Texas, an adult at the age of 21 or older is liable for damages proximately caused by the intoxication of a minor under the age of 18 if: The adult is not the minor’s parent, guardian, spouse, or an adult who says the minor may have been committed. Also, the adult is supposed to know: Served or provided to the minor that is contributed to the minor’s intoxication, or allowed the minor to be served or provided with any of the alcoholic beverages that contributed to the minor’s intoxication on the premises owned or leased by the adult.

x

Hi!
I'm Brenda!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out